Site icon Digital Business Africa

Cosmas Zavazava (Zimbabwe) was elected Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Development Bureau

Cosmas Luckyson Zavazava: "In many countries, fixed-broadband Internet is prohibitively expensive, if it is available at all"

[Digital Business Africa] – Next ITU leadership team in place. Member States have completed elections for the five leaders at the UN specialized agency entrusted with driving digital transformation.

​​​​Member States of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) today, 30 September 2022, concluded elections for the organization’s top five management posts, with voting for the bureau directors responsible for the three main areas of ITU’s work.​

​​​​I​TU Bureau Directors for 2023-2026:​​

​​Mario Maniewicz (Uruguay) was re-elected for his second term as Director of ITU’s Radiocommunication Bureau, which is responsible for maintaining and implementing the Radio Regulations treaty that harmonizes international spectrum use and satellite orbits, and for developing the related technical standards.

Seizo Onoe (Japan) was elected as Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, which is responsible for developing international technical standards for telecommunication and ICT (information and communication technology) through a membership of governments, private companies, and technical experts from around the world.

Cosmas Zavazava (Zimbabwe, picture) was elected Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Development Bureau, which is responsible for mobilizing global efforts to connect the unconnected through promoting equitable and inclusive digital development, upgrading infrastructure and capacity for developing countries, and initiatives to extend the benefits of technologies to all.

They form the ITU leadership team together with Secretary-General-elect Doreen Bogdan-Martin (U.S.) and ITU Deputy Secretary-General-elect Tomas Lamanauskas (Lithuania), both elected yesterday.

Each of the five elected officials is set to serve a four-year term starting on 1 January 2023.

See the PP-22 web pages for full election results​.

As the conference continues into its second week, Member States will vote on the 12 members of the Radio Regulations Board and the 48 members of ITU Council on Monday 3, October.

Digital Business Africa

Exit mobile version